SNAP Leadership Panel


From February 2022 to March 2023, members of the SNAP Leadership Panel worked together to review, revise, finalise and launch SNAP 2. After SNAP 2 is published, the Panel’s role is to monitor and oversee its implementation. The Panel is supported by the independent SNAP Secretariat.


The SNAP Leadership Panel is a voluntary partnership including members who are rights holders and people who represent civil society organisations, duty bearers (public bodies), and National Human Rights Institutions.

During the SNAP 2 development phase, the Panel was co-chaired by the Scottish Human Rights Commission and the Scottish Government. At the time of publishing SNAP 2, the members of the SNAP Leadership Panel are as follows:

  • Alessa Raine Catterall
  • Alex Thorburn
  • Charlie McMillan, Chief Executive, Scottish Commission for People with Learning Disabilities (SCLD)
  • Clare Gallagher, Human Rights Officer, CEMVO Scotland
  • Clare MacGillivray, Director, Making Rights Real (MRR)
  • Fiona Taylor (alternate), DCC Professionalism, Digital and Transformation, Police Scotland
  • Gordon Paterson, Director for Social Care, NHS Education for Scotland
  • Heather Ford
  • Henry Mathias, Head of Professional Standards and Practice, Care Inspectorate
  • Hussein Patwa
  • Ian Duddy, Chair, Scottish Human Rights Commission (co-Chair)
  • John Wilkes, Head of Scotland, Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC)
  • Lorraine Cook (deputising), Policy Manager, Confederation of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)
  • Malcolm Graham (alternate), DCC Crime and Operational Support, Police Scotland
  • Mhairi Snowden, Director, Human Rights Consortium Scotland (HRCS)
  • Michael Heffernan
  • Nicola Dickie, Director of People Policy, Confederation of Scottish Local Authorities (COSLA)
  • Pat Scrutton
  • Rob Gowans, Policy and Public Affairs Manager, Health and Social Care Alliance Scotland (the ALLIANCE)
  • Rob Priestley, Unit Head, Mainstreaming and Strategy Unit, Directorate for Equality, Inclusion and Human Rights, Scottish Government (co-Chair)
  • Sam Gluckstein, Human Rights Lead/Inspector and NPM Coordinator, Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Prisons Scotland (HMIPS)
  • Sam Smith, CEO, C-Change Scotland
  • Shaben Begum
  • Susan Docherty
  • Tim Mairs (deputising), ACC Local Policing East, Police Scotland

Panel members were recruited via an open process in early 2022 and took part in an intensive induction programme from March to April 2022. Before their appointment, some members had previous experience of human rights policy-making and action planning – including involvement in SNAP 1 – while other members were new to these issues.

From May 2022 to February 2023, members of the SNAP Leadership Panel met monthly or more, and formed subgroups in between, to review, revise, finalise and launch SNAP 2.

Terms of Reference and Ways of Working

The Leadership Panel’s Terms of Reference for the period 2022 to 2025 includes information about how members work and their focus. 

Panel members work together collaboratively and as equals, using a tailored form of consensus-based decision-making – developed for them by the Secretariat – to agree the SNAP 2 actions. The Panel’s work was underpinned by the ‘Working Together Values’ of:

  • Dignity and respect

We are considerate and respectful of each other and treat each other with dignity.

  • Equality and inclusion

We try to ensure all members can play an equal part in, and make a meaningful contribution to, the panel. We try to follow the Six Principles of Inclusive Communication.

  • Human rights

We are passionate about human rights and our work takes a human rights-based approach.

  • Curiosity

We are open-minded, listen to each other and are curious about other people’s experiences and views.

  • Collaboration

We recognise we all have different experiences and views, and work together equally and in partnership to achieve a common shared goal.

End of page.